Powered by Google

Dina Al-Sabawi

Dina Al-Sabawi

dal-sabawi@rthighschool.org

Sarah Anderle

Sarah Anderle

sanderle@rthighschool.org

Kat Baker

Kat Baker

kbaker@rthighschool.org

I graduated from NC State University in 2014 and have been teaching at RTHS ever since. I am a North Carolina Teaching Fellow and am in the process of earning my National Board certification.

Elizabeth Balazs

Elizabeth Balazs

ebalazs@rthighschool.org

Steve Butera

Steve Butera

sbutera@rthighschool.org

I am a graduate of the College of William and Mary, where I earned a BS, magna cum laude, in Mathematics. A native of New Jersey, I have been living and teaching in North Carolina since 2007, teaching mathematics, science, computer science, and robotics at both the secondary and middle school levels. Outside of the classroom, I have worked as an outdoor educator and environmental program coordinator, leading mountain biking and camping trips and facilitating school-wide composting and gardening programs. Here at RTHS, I teach AP Computer Science, Engineering, Multivariable Caculus, and hosts the Girls Who Code club.

Madison Carr

Madison Carr

mcarr@rthighschool.org

SJ Casar

SJ Casar

scasar@rthighschool.org

Having attended multiple universities, many moons ago I finally joined the ranks of people who go to school for a living. I have mostly taught Latin and English, but have also wrangled the occasional History class.

Karen Cho

Karen Cho

kcho@rthighschool.org

Kristen Cook

Kristen Cook

kcook@rthighschool.org

I am a former EC (Special Education) teacher turned School Counselor. Throughout my career in education I have worked in both charter and traditional high schools.

Angela Cooper

Angela Cooper

acooper@rthighschool.org

I graduated from Washington University in St. Louis with a degree in Psychology with a concentration in cognition and memory and then attended graduate school at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill to study cognitive psychology before joining the RTHS faculty in 2015. I have been teaching in a K-12 classroom since 2006 and have taught math at a wide range of levels from third grade through AP Calculus.

Nan Danehower

Nan Danehower

ndanehower@rthighschool.org

Alex Drake

Alex Drake

adrake@rthighschool.org

I came to RTHS as one of the school’s original faculty members in 2012, teaching history and serving as the Athletic Director and President of the Central Tar Heel Conference. Immediately prior to coming to RTHS, I was a graduate assistant for compliance in the Auburn Tigers Athletic Department. I began my teaching career at Robinson High School in Concord, N.C., where I taught social studies from 2005 to 2010.

Joshua Edwards

Joshua Edwards

jedwards@rthighschool.org

Leatha Fields-Carey

Leatha Fields-Carey

lfieldscarey@rthighschool.org

I am a member of the first group of North Carolina Teaching Fellows, earning a B.S. in English/Secondary Education from Appalachian State University and graduated summa cum laude from Campbell University with an M.Ed in English/ Secondary Education. A National Board Certified teacher in English Language Arts, I previously taught with Johnston County Schools for twenty years, serving as English department chair, Peer Coaching coordinator, mentor coordinator, School Improvement Team chair, SACS accreditation team chair, and testing coordinator. I was a semifinalist for Johnston County’s Teacher of the Year in 1995, 1996, 1997, and 2009. In addition to high school teaching, I also trained lateral entry teachers through East Carolina University’s Project ACT program and have taught part-time at Campbell University.

Ian Finley

Ian Finley

ifinley@rthighschool.org

I hold an MFA from NYU’s Tisch School of Performing Arts. In addition to teaching for 19 years, 7 of which have been at RTHS, I am a professional actor and playwright, named the NC Piedmont Laureate in Playwriting in 2012.

Cassie Fox

Cassie Fox

cfox@rthighschool.org

Cassie Fox earned a B.S., cum laude, in Business Education from Troy University in Troy, Alabama. Mrs. Fox has over 19 years of administrative experience with the last 10 at Cresset Christian Academy as the office secretary. Mrs. Fox truly values quality education and is excited to be part of RTHS, such an innovative, forward thinking school. When she is not at RTHS, she enjoys spending time with her husband and three children.

Jarred Franklin

Jarred Franklin

jfranklin@rthighschool.org

I began my coaching career at Smoky Mountain High School while I was still an undergraduate at Western Carolina University. After graduating and spending a semester in graduate school I began my teaching career at Weldon High School in Weldon North Carolina. In the three years I was there I was an assistant football and baseball coach as well as the Strength and Conditioning Coordinator. I have been at RTHS since 2014 and I am the Assistant Athletic Director and the Strength and Conditioning Coordinator.

Heather Futrell

Heather Futrell

hfutrell@rthighschool.org

Crystal Garrett

Crystal Garrett

cgarrett@rthighschool.org

This is my third year teaching (my first at RTHS). I worked for more than a decade as a journalist for newspapers and magazines before beginning my teaching career.

Eric Genesky

Eric Genesky

egenesky@rthighschool.org

Since I began teaching in 2008, I have taught various core and Advanced Placement courses at the high school level. Thanks to a teaching fellowship at NCSU, I had the opportunity to teach Freshman Composition, which helps me to see how students’ experience in high school informs their post-secondary education.

Cornelius Caesar Gloria

Cornelius Caesar Gloria

I started working at Duke as the support lead of a proprietary psychiatric assessment tool for child and adolescents. Since then I have been at many big firms in the area such as NetFriends, NC Mutual Life, and COCG before finding my calling in education at The Exploris School and now Research Triangle High School. I have over 10 years of technical support experience and am one of those millennials without a college degree.

Elizabeth Godwin

Elizabeth Godwin

egodwin@rthighschool.org

Alan Goldstein

Alan Goldstein

agoldstein@rthighschool.org

I spent over twenty years working at PepsiCo World Headquarters as a senior systems design and implementation manager. After extensive international work and travel, I retired and relocated with my wife and son to North Carolina, where I took the opportunity to pursue my love of teaching. I have volunteered extensively, working as a tutor and math specialist in Wake County and as Director of Education at Kramden Institute.

Andrew Green

Andrew Green

agreen@rthighschool.org

I have been an EC teacher for 5 years. The first 5 years I worked at a middle school in Kansas City, KS. I co-taught in math, reading, science and social studies classes while working there. I also was a football, girls and boys basketball and track coach.

Eric Grunden

Eric Grunden

egrunden@rthighschool.org

I was the winner of the Presidential Award for Mathematics and Science Teaching in 2011. I helped write the original charter for RTHS. I am a writer and a judge for the TV quiz show “Brain Game.” I coached a high school Quiz Bowl team to a national championship in 2006.

Jeff Guilford

Jeff Guilford

jguilford@rthighschool.org

After graduating from NC State with a philosophy degree in 2011 (and as one of my class’ roughly 100 valedictorians), I got a job making minimum wage working as a outdoor educator and mountain biking instructor in Western NC. After I had had enough of that I returned to NC state to get my MA in history with a focus on modern intellectual history. Upon graduating in 2014, I got a job at RTHS and have been attempting to get kids to think really hard about their lives ever since.

Mamie Hall

Mamie Hall

mhall@rthighschool.org

I taught middle school in the Chapel Hill-Carrboro City School system for ten years before becoming a founding teacher of RTHS. During the first years of the school, I taught English 1 and World History and was passionate about personalizing learning and meeting the needs of all students. This passion translated into my current role helping students be successful at RTHS.

Sue Hess

Sue Hess

shess@rthighschool.org

I earned a BA in Spanish with a concentration in Latin American Studies and an M.Ed. in K-12 Foreign Language Education from the University of Florida. I began my career at Newberry High School in Florida teaching Spanish and French and coaching girls’ basketball. After moving to Raleigh, I joined the faculty at Carroll Middle School. In addition to teaching foreign language I have been a fitness instructor and has worked as a college student adviser.

Jennifer Johnson

Jennifer Johnson

jjohnson@rthighschool.org

Stacey Kaufman

Stacey Kaufman

skaufman@rthighschool.org

Sarah Lasseter

Sarah Lasseter

slasseter@rthighschool.org

I earned my Bachelor’s in Biology, Science Education, and French from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, then completed a two-year service as a Peace Corps Volunteer in West Africa as a Biology and Chemistry teacher in a rural Guinean school. I joined the faculty at RTHS as Lead Biology Teacher in 2013. During my teaching career, I have also taught in Harlem, New York, and coached cross country and track. I am currently pursuing a graduate degree in Educational Technology and Innovation at UNC-Chapel Hill.

Susie Lee

Susie Lee

slee@rthighschool.org

Yolanda LeMay

Yolanda LeMay

ylemay@rthighschool.org

I began working with Student Housing as a Residential Counselor for athletes and first year students. Upon graduation, I worked at Peace College as a Residential Director in the First Year College. I then worked for Methodist Home for Children as a Residential Counselor for students with behavior or substance abuse issues. Before joining RTHS, I worked for the Wake County Public School System for fourteen years as a Department Head, Testing Coordinator, Multiple Subject Special Education Teacher and Mentor Beginning Teachers.

Jay Liotta

Jay Liotta

jliotta@rthighschool.org

Emily Madsen

Emily Madsen

emadsen@rthighschool.org

Shana Mobley

Shana Mobley

smobley@rthighschool.org

I taught in Cabarrus County for a couple of years. I taught World, American I, and American II, but most of my time was spend dedicated to Civics and Economics. I have taken students abroad to Europe, and would love to do that again.

Mae Mohamed

Mae Mohamed

mmohamed@rthighschool.org

I graduated from North Carolina State University, with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with a concentration in Marketing and a Minor in German. My career started in the corporate world in marketing and then as a real estate agent for seven years before working in education. My previous position was at The Exploris School.

Sarah Overman

Sarah Overman

soverman@rthighschool.org

I worked in selective college admissions for ten years prior to becoming the Director of College Counseling at RTHS. Most recently, I was an Assistant Director of Admissions at NC State, where I worked directly with students and families throughout the application process and served on the admissions committee. Previously, I spent seven years working in admissions at American University in Washington, DC. I am an active member of the Southern Association for College Admission Counseling, where I have presented at the annual conference.

Zoë Playe

Zoë Playe

zplaye@rthighschool.org

Anthony Rosado

Anthony Rosado

arosado@rthighschool.org

Jayshree Sadhwani

Jayshree Sadhwani

jsadhwani@rthighschool.org

I have been teaching Spanish for over 12 years in diverse classroom settings ages K-12. I have contributed to developing curricula and procedures for assessment of Foreign Languages, namely Spanish and French in private schools. I have had experience in teaching Spanish to adults in professional fields and helped in translating technical documents.

Hillary Sawyers

Hillary Sawyers

hsawyers@rthighschool.org

Jenna Skarda

Jenna Skarda

jskarda@rthighschool.org

Thomas Slusser

Thomas Slusser

tslusser@rthighschool.org

Jessica Stokes

Jessica Stokes

jstokes@rthighschool.org

After receiving my undergraduate degree with a masters in English and a minor in Creative Writing, I stuck around UNC at Chapel Hill and tacked on an MAT degree. Then, I spent my first four years of teaching at Southeast Raleigh High School with the New Tech Program. Then, for a brief change, I hopped over to Heritage High School for a year. Then, finally, I found my home here at RTHS, where I am now celebrating my 10th year of teaching!

Monica Strada

Monica Strada

mstrada@rthighschool.org

Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I earned a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry from the University of Toronto and a Master of Arts in Teaching from Sacred Heart University. Following five years of high school science instruction, I joined the faculty of Sacred Heart University teaching general chemistry, biochemistry and integrated general, organic and biochemistry. I have spent a decade running the National Chemistry Olympiad and First Year Excellence in Chemistry program for the local ACS (American Chemical Society) chapter.

Ani Tshantshapanyan

Ani Tshantshapanyan

atshantshapanyan@rthighschool.org

Rachel Volpe

Rachel Volpe

rvolpe@rthighschool.org

I began my career in education working as a school counselor. I then began teaching students with exceptionalities and have been doing so for the past 14 years.

Jennifer Walker

Jennifer Walker

jwalker@rthighschool.org

Jessica Warren

Jessica Warren

jwarren@rthighschool.org

I started teaching since 1996 in Massachusetts. I did take 5 years off and left the classroom to be the program director of an arts council where I taught art and ran their gallery. I was awarded an NEA grant while there to bring arts programming to the county. I missed the classroom and my students and haven’t looked back. I’ve been at RTHS since the second year.

Connor Wilkins

Connor Wilkins

cwilkins@rthighschool.org

John Wood

John Wood

jwood@rthighschool.org

I was a news journalist/photographer for 20+ years before becoming a teacher. I have taught English, social studies, and now digital media. During my time in television, I won an Emmy in 2002 for best newscast when I worked in Atlanta. I am also a freelance writer, filmmaker, and photographer.

Alfonz Zsiga

Alfonz Zsiga

azsiga@rthighschool.org

Ready to be a RTHS Raptor?